Wednesday, 10 December 2014 04:35

Thank God for music

We sing the Good News so that the rest of the world begins to sing along.

Published in Columns
Wednesday, 03 December 2014 05:04

Advent: Jesus’ DNA?

Once more, that divine-human dilemma.

Published in Columns
Monday, 01 December 2014 06:00

The hope button

As Advent begins, go ahead and push it — it would be misleading not to.

Published in Columns
Thursday, 05 December 2013 10:17

The first war on Christmas

In Advent 2013 let’s not become so obsessed about who says “Merry Christmas” over the counter that we ignore the magnificent ignominy of Jesus’ birth.

Published in Can I Get a Witness?
Monday, 02 December 2013 08:41

A season to prepare

How do we make it through all of the good and the not-so-good of the so-called “Christmas season?”

Published in Commentaries
Sunday, 06 January 2013 19:00

Baptists open eyes to Epiphany

Epiphany and other events on liturgical calendar, long dismissed by most Baptists as unbiblical, are increasingly being viewed as spiritually beneficial, some experts say.

Published in Theology
Thursday, 03 January 2013 19:00

Casting visions from the pulpit

For pastors, the New Year season is ideal for 'vision casting' and 'state of the church' addresses.

Published in Congregations
Tuesday, 18 December 2012 14:04

Churches grieve Sandy Hook shootings

CBF churches across the country paused during Sunday worship services Dec. 16 to pray for victims of violence in Newtown, Conn.

Published in Congregations
Friday, 14 December 2012 12:02

Christmas lessons

Being a minority voice in a larger conversation is not just for Christmas. It is the future of the American church.

Published in Vital Signs
Wednesday, 12 December 2012 19:00

Book shares struggles of Baptist women

The Modern Magnificat recounts the struggles and triumphs of 23 ordained Baptist women.

Published in People
Page 1 of 2