Matt Gaetz (R-FL) and Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) make a last-second agreement to end McCarthy's four-day battle for the Speaker of the House at the U.S. Capitol Building on January 7 in Washington, DC. The House of Representatives met for the fourth day to vote for the next Speaker after Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) failed to earn a majority of votes on 14 ballots; the first time in 100 years that the Speaker was not elected on the first ballot. (Photo by Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images)